Carroll County was created in 1833 from Stark, Columbiana, Jefferson, Harrison, & Tuscarawas Counties. The county seat is Carrollton.  It is named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton, the last surviving signer of the Declaration of Independence. Cities, towns, and villages (past and present) of Carroll County are Augusta, Augusta Township, Brown Township, Carrollton, Center Township, Dellroy, East Township, Fox Township, Harlem Springs, Harrison Township, Lee Township, Leesville, Loudon Township, Magnolia, Malvern, Mechanicstown, Minerva, Monroe Township, Orange Township, Perry Township, Rose Township, Sherrodsville, Union Township, and Washington Township.

*Carroll County, Ohio, is situated in the east part of the state. It was established in 1833. It contains 400 square miles. Drained by Sandy, Conoten, and the north fork of Yellow creek. Soil, very fertile. Capital, Carrollton. There were in 1840, neat cattle 12,841, sheep 23,382, swine 16,519; wheat 252,428 bushels produced, rye 22,568, Indian corn 137,939, buckwheat 13,593, oats 218,278, potatoes 38,164; 16 stores, capital $39,500; 4 tanneries, 2 distilleries, 5 flouring mills, 11 grist mills, 14 saw mills, 1 oil factorie, 2 printing offices, 2 weekly newspapers. Capital in manufactures $30,250. 1 academy 32 students, 23 schools 681 scholars. Population: 18,108.

*Source: A Complete Descriptive And Statistical Gazetteer Of The United States Of America, By Daniel Haskel, A. M and J. Calvin Smith, Published By Sherman & Smith, 1843

Carroll County Research Links and Resources
Please note that any link that goes to another site will automatically open in a new window.


search engine by freefind advanced


Carroll County AHGP Interim Webmaster Paula Franklin

We welcome your submissions. However, we can only accept items in the public domain unless we receive written permission from the copyright owner for other materials. Cornell University has a good chart that explains copyright duration.

Please check back often as I will be adding new information as I get it.

Columbiana County / Harrison County / Jefferson County
Stark County / Tuscarawas County


Be sure to add us to your favorites list and check back often.

This page was last updated Tuesday, 28-Feb-2017 20:18:16 EST.

Webspace for this site is generously provided by

All rights reserved

Copyright of individual submissions rests with the creator and/or submitter of the information, photograph, or other items. Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited. 
This site or the pages within it may not be duplicated in any way without the consent of the original submitter.

Site Copyright © 2006~2014 by Kim Gordon.
Site Copyright ©2014~2022 by Carroll County AHGP.